Should I upgrade my PC to an I7 based machine or wait for the new processors in Jan?

Posted on Июль 13, 2009. Filed under: wow |

Question:

I use my PC for light photo editing, gaming (WoW, Company of Heroes) and general web use. My specs are;





E8400 CPU


4Gig DDR2/800


8800GTS


320 Gig HD





I’d like to upgrade when Windows 7 comes out, but maybe I can get by with a video card upgrade while the i9 Intel processors @ 32nm get produced.





Ideas?


Answer:

I am waiting for GulfTown. The current i7s are just the first run of a whole new line.





Remember, when you go i7, you have to get an X58 mobo and DDR3 RAM…and, with 6Gb being the standard build right now…it makes it impossible to run XP (32 has the 3.25 limit on RAM and XP-64 is a nightmare), which causes all kinds of havoc if you are using high end legacy audio/video hardware.

Make a Comment

Добавить комментарий

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

